Last night I managed to understand a phone call from our neighbor who will take care of the yard.  He was to arrive at eight this morning, which he did, with weed whacker on his shoulder, a small container of gas, a rake, and a gift from the feria (farmers’ market) – two pejibayes.  It is a tropical fruit, also called a peach palm.  He explained I was to peel it and take out the seed.  When I googled it I found I could eat it raw but it is usually cooked and eaten with salt, honey, or most often, mayonnaise.  I sampled a bit raw but haven’t boiled it yet.

 

Marconey, the neighbor, donned his protective gear and harness and set about working.  It seemed back breaking.

 

While he cut and raked up the clippings we headed down the rocky road to meet with Jenny Moss, the English woman from Canada who has married a Tico and runs the San Gerardo Project.  See more about this at sangerardocostarica.com.  She shared orange muffins baked this morning and fresh coffee while getting to know each other.  Her life is so very busy with volunteers and filling in the gaps as needed.  Needing a break from teaching I am not going to take over her English courses, though I am willing to converse with people who need regular maintenance of English.  We could get involved with environmental concerns such as recycling.  There is a woman in Herradura, a five minute bump down the mountain, who sells eggs from her quad cycle.  Being an enterprising woman she and her husband sell gasoline to the neighbors since she needs it as well.  The closest real gas station is in San Isidro, an hour from here.  We are contemplating buying me a quad cycle so I can have transportation when Bill takes the 4WD to San Gerardo for volunteer work.   Me, driving an ATV…..hmmmm.

Herradura has a women’s group which gives them a way to earn their own money and help them feel empowered.  They make and sell soap, shampoo, jam, produce, etc.  I want to look into that.   I could really learn Spanish by immersion.  Then I can take classes to clean up my grammar.  Jenny gave us the name and number of a young woman who can teach us for about four dollars a lesson lasting an hour and a half to two hours.  If we don’t see her tomorrow at the coffee clutch, I will give her a call.  Separate lessons are in order, though, since we have differing knowledge bases.

There is a trout farm in the village where we can catch our own fish.  Memories of Dad…..

There is also a nutrition program which provides a free breakfast and lunch for the local children.  Their nutrition is closely monitored.  That sounds like something to look into, as well.

On the way to Jenny’s house I suddenly saw two green and blue birds fly up from the road and perch in a nearby tree.  Motmots!

Processed with Snapseed.

 

